One of the four horses of the sun in classical Greek mythology. According to the poet Ovid, the four horses that drew the chariot of the sun were Eous, Acthon, Phlegon and Pyrios. Like Pegasus they were winged and extremely swift.

John and Caitlin Matthews, The Element Encyclopaedia of Magical Creatures, 2013, Eous, p 167

Eous 1 Eous 2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s